Day 62 – 85: The importance of keeping fit and keeping sane, because we all get by with a little help from our friends.

A week from today, at this exact time, I will be getting ready to head to my last day of my education internship. Everyone has been saying, “You must be so excited!” and “I bet you can’t wait!” I get where they’re coming from, but those two things couldn’t be further from the truth. These past three months have been insane, and at times extremely overwhelming, but honestly my most amazing adventure yet. I have had the time to teach some phenomenal students, who have taught me a lot. I am a firm believer in being a student as much as I am a teacher. Who would ever want to stop learning?! I am saddened when I think about this time next week, and how hard the end of the day will be. I’ll have to hug all them, with their smiling faces, and try to share with them every piece of advice and inspiration I have in mind (mind you that would take forever!) Whoever said leaving the first kids you ever teach is one of the hardest parts of being a teacher sure knew what they were talking about. As I approach next week and time flies by, I’m trying to focus less on how sad my final day will be and how extraordinary my time here has been and comes to be. I had the pleasure of meeting tons of new people, and seeing lots of new places I had never even heard of. My cooperating teacher has helped me a lot with some inner turmoil. It never ceases to amaze me how someone new can give you advice and it changes the way you look at things. We were lucky enough to get Robyn placed in our class as the replacement TA shortly after I had arrived. Both of them have been amazing friends and confidantes, through the best and worst days. Moving anywhere alone can be hard on your mind and body. You can slip into a bit of a rut and it can be hard to get out of. When I first arrived in High Level, it was great. I was swept up in the newness of northern Alberta. The way the sun rose in the sky later than ever before, how the cold could take your breath away, and just how flat and wide this new land was. I am still amazed by new discoveries every week, but for a period of time I felt like I was drowning. I let my mind and body slip for a while, and sleeping was my best friend. Then it hit me. This is my life, and I’ve got to live it one day at a time Cliché, I know, but it’s hard to live in the here, in the now. I decided I either had to smarten up and get myself out of the rut I had put myself into, or I’d have a lousy three months in Alberta. With the help of some amazing new friends, I’ve been having the time of my life. When I’m not lesson planning and correcting, I’m walking, volunteering, grabbing Timmie’s with a friend, or out to the Flamingo or Mirage with a number of them. Life is what we make it. Here’s to making it the very damn best we can, here’s to whatever comes next!

Leave a Reply

