Day 14, 15, and 16!: There’s a little bit of basketball fan in all of us.

This past week has been a little crazy. I realize I may have to condense a couple entries into one if I hope to cover everyday of my three month internship.

Thursday we got internet installed in our unit. Needless to say, two weeks without WiFi at home should be illegal (I know, silly. But we’re spoiled). I feel like the true noteworthy part is in fact how we also got cable television as well. Talk about the television never being turned off! Background music is the best.

Friday I spent the morning teaching and the afternoon at the Northern Bear basketball tournament. High Level Public hosts the tournament every year and it turned out to be a lot of fun. I got some pretty cool memorabilia and had a great time. A lot of the rules went way over my head, but it was interesting to see a ball game in action.

Saturday was a beautiful, sunny day with the temperature around -10 (which is pretty warm up this way). Therefore I spent the day exploring High Level. I spent a while at the Humane Society (finally decided which dog to foster! Hopefully I can get him soon!) Then I got to see the café everyone talks about around these parts, Traditions. It turns out the owner is a lovely lady from back home(Foxtrap, in particular)!

After a delicious hot chocolate, I tackled the rest of the clothing stores and thrift store on the main street (Which I believe is 100th Street. Everything is numbered up here, so strange!) Along the way I saw some beautiful murals painted along side the pathways between buildings. If this town takes pride in one thing, it is definitely its art and heritage.

My final stop on my way home was this fantastic shop known for its hidden gems. A store full of knick knacks and endless amounts of neck scarves, foreign teas, and jewelry, I fell in love with The Treasure Chest. After about an hour of browsing, I purchased some earrings, a necklace, and an adorable addition to Matt’s Valentine’s day gift(Matt’s my boyfriend who is patiently awaiting my return back home. Miss you!)

All in all it was an amazing day. I got to see parts of High Level I never knew existed and tasted one of the best hot chocolates I have ever had.

Here’s to finding that hidden gem, here’s to whatever comes next.
image

Leave a Reply

