Day 11, 12, and 13!: Stop trying to direct the wind, and learn to adjust your sails!

Today I experienced wind in High Level for the first time. I know, I know, it shouldn’t be such a big deal…but it REALLY is.

Back home, it is always windy. The only time you’re missing the wind is the occasional summer day when it’s hot and muggy and all you want is a cool breeze from the Atlantic ocean. I’ve grown accustomed to messy hair, closed windows at night and the lack of outdoor picnics because of Newfoundland’s windy disposition. Northern Alberta has proven to be frigid and numbing, but most certainly not windy.

It made me think of the proverb, “You can’t direct the wind, but you can adjust your sails.” I now realize how important it is, in life and especially now in teaching, to be able to adjust to whatever comes next.

These past few days have been hectic, and taking over the duties of a homeroom teacher is pretty demanding. I’m lucky enough to have a cooperating teacher who loves to share her wisdom and experiences with me, and never be afraid to tell me when something could be done better. Today I had to adjust my sails while I taught a grade seven math class. Now, some of you may be thinking, “Grade 7 math?! So what!.” Yet those of you who know me, know that math has never been my strong suit. Looking back on grade seven, I’m not even sure if I could have done the math then(not alone all these years later).

I am proud to say I managed to get by with a little help from my students. I recalled some examples used to teach integers back in high school, and dove in head first. Luckily I managed to get through an entire lesson with no casualties. As far as accomplishments on my internship goes, that one was big for me.

I have been keeping up with my work out routines, and even with taking my vitamins in the morning. I’ve been in contact with the humane society and will hopefully have an animal companion soon enough. Time is flying, before I know it I’ll be heading to Teacher’s Convention (an AMAZING opportunity teachers here in Northern Alberta get to take advantage of) in February, and then be rushing around the classroom in March in order to finish up my lesson plans before I finish up on April 2.

I had the pleasure of taking part in my first cooking class ever. We made beef stew and bannock. When the students had heard I had never tried bannock, they just about lost their minds. Turns out it’s a delicious sweet loaf that is often served with stew or soup. I’m excited to take over cooking for the rest of the semester here. Recipes are welcome!

Here’s to delicious food, here’s to whatever comes next.

Leave a Reply

