Day 3: The feeling you get when half your face freezes

Today I got to sleep in while staying in Chateh. With the humidifier and gas furnace running steady all night, I slept like the dead.

I awoke shortly after 10 am and got dressed to head outside. I was greeted by a local dog that I had met the day prior. I had heard that there were a number of local dogs that were allowed to roam the reserve freely, needless to say I was hoping to run into a few (animal lover, no judgment). It seems I had made a friend and the local dog became slightly overbearing and protective when he realized others were nearby. I took a short video of him and the area to give you guys a feel for what it was like. It was an absolute treat visiting Chateh, and I hope to get the chance to visit again before I head home in April.

After heading back home the rest of my day has been rather slow. I decided to try and familiarize myself with the town of High Level in order to get to and from with more ease. I suited up, layers and all, and headed out into -37. The thing that amuses me about up North, is that the roads are always icy. In fact, they’re completely covered in ice almost all winter long. The cold is rather unforgiving here and does not allow for any road salt or sand to take effect. Therefore everyone has to get used to walking and driving on sheets on ice. It may take me a while.

Another thing I was rather surprised by is just how quickly you get cold without realizing. I had left the unit and walked 15 minutes towards the center of town when I realized I could not feel my legs. I figured that I was in a bit of a conundrum, so I turned around and took refuge in a local store(The Bargain Store, otherwise known as TBS). I grabbed some odds and ends and began chatting with the cashier. I started chuckling at something she had said when it hit me…half of my face was frozen.

I was attempting to smile, yet the whole bloody left side would not budge. Immediately I flushed and tried to cover my face with the scarf draped around my neck. Exactly what to expect of an islander who is attempting to explore the frigid lands of Northern Canada, meanwhile not realizing just how cold -37 is. Back home I would get cold and keep on trekking. Up here I get cold and can’t even crack a full smile.

Here’s to being more climate aware, here’s to whatever comes next!

Leave a Reply

